2013 in Review

2013 yielded some interesting outcomes in my teaching and writing career.

New Publication

Late in 2013, I was announced as my building’s “Teacher of the Year” for 2014-2015.  In response, I decided to write a series of books that details my best practices and my teaching philosophy.  The first of that series is now available for purchase.

The Re-Creating Lifelong Learners book series reinforces authentic instruction by holding students accountable to assignments that are based in the real world and have long-term goals in mind.

Interviews and Book Talks

My Brand Interview by Susan Newman Design brought some excellent attention to my work.  Susan is a Jersey City resident who specializes in media and marketing.

Locally, I have had several events in Jersey City.  The public library, JC Made, and Farms in the Heights have all been wonderfully receptive to my work.

Donation to @MCCNewYork

One of the most rewarding experiences of 2013 was my ability to raise enough money to purchase a dryer for Sylvia’s Place, a homeless LGBT youth shelter in Manhattan.

1495544_10153655391790577_1593682027_n

Jeremiah Kleckner hands the money over to Ted McGuire.
Photo by Melissa Kleckner

1606959_10201102793997664_1955202605_n

A snapshot of the dryer purchased exclusively through book sales.

Leave a Reply

