Two weeks ago, I began a new journey in my writing career.  I entered Fix in an online contest for Sci-Fi and I submitted Adversary to the Sanitarium Magazine.  

I’m a patient person, so I was a bit surprised when I got this in response from the Sanitarium so quickly.  

Naturally, I was a little confused why they would use the subject line “Welcome to the Sanitarium” for a rejection email, but this was to be expected.  The Sanitarium is a top tier magazine and I was completely prepared to have to work harder than submitting a single query before fame and fortune flooded every corner of my life. 

I am good at forward momentum, which brought me to the next submission… 

Clarkesworld Magazine 

From the site’s About Page: “Clarkesworld Magazine is an online science fiction and fantasy magazine, three-time winner of the Hugo Award for Best Semiprozine (2010, 2011 & 2013), a current (2014) World Fantasy Award winner, and a finalist for Locus Award for Best Magazine every year since 2012. Fiction from Clarkesworld has won Nebula and Locus Awards, and been nominated for the Hugo, Nebula, Sturgeon and Stoker Awards. Each month, the online version of Clarkesworld is read by an average of thirty-five thousand science fiction and fantasy fans. Our podcast has an audience of just over nine thousand.”

This one was a bit of a longshot for me since I am an unknown author.  Adversary may be a bit too gritty (and I may be a bit too terrible) for the Clarkesworld editors, but I wanted to give this award winning magazine a shot.

I expected to wait a week or more for a response.  So, imagine my surprise when I got this back the morning after I submitted my query.

 
At least they didn’t welcome me to their publication before dismissing the story.  

My thoughts so far:  Oh well, there are many more magazines in my genre that are more suited to the story I’m selling.  

The key is to keep at it.  
Remember, I am working this angle for a few good reasons:

  1. It keeps the first books (Fix and Adversary) of two new series busy so that I can’t go back and tinker with them instead of moving forward.
  2. It forces me to wait before publishing them on my own so that I have more books of the series ready to support and build on initial sales.  
  3. Success with either title through the contest or a magazine publication would give my writing career a boost beyond the intial cash-in-hand.

For these reasons, and many more, I am pushing forward.  

2 thoughts on “An Update on My Magazine Query

  1. Jeremiah,

    I’ve had twenty-two rejections from Clarkesworld to date, all within 48 hours, so nothing unusual there. No idea how long Neil takes over an acceptance – not yet happened to me! I’m keeping a tally of rejections (66) against acceptances (1) for 2015 on my blog, meschera.blogspot.co.uk,

    Robert

Leave a Reply

