There are a ton of rumors about the sequel to the 2014 Godzilla movie, one of which being that King Kong will step up to face him.  As a cynic, I have a few problems with this fight.

Before I say anything, I have to admit that I love all types of monster movies.  I grew up watching the Godzilla movies from the 1960s and 1970s.  The original King Kong movie was amazing.  Even the recent remake was pretty good.  I’m looking forward to more films like those and Pacific Rim in the future.

I just have some issues with this specific fight.

#1 Size Matters

King Kong ranged in height from 18 to 60 feet.  In their first meeting, King Kong had to be swelled to a massive 150 feet just to meet Godzilla eye to eye.  The modern King Kong from Legendary Pictures is back to his 60-foot stature.

The original Godzilla was about 50 meters (approx. 164 feet) tall.  The one from the most recent film is considerably taller, approaching 150 meters (approx. 492 feet) in height.    fb4fe81ffed1bd2f72b91b7d9c89534dKing Kong would have a long way to go if he were going to get that tall.  If not, then the fight would look something like this.GodzillavsKingKong

#2 Abilities

According to Wikizilla, Godzilla’s abilities include:

  1. Atomic Breath
  2. Nuclear Pulse and Magnetic Powers
  3. Durability and Regeneration
  4. Immense Strength
  5. Other powers, such as Flight, Laser Beams, Intelligence, and Amphibiousness (The quote from the page is “Though not an amphibian, Godzilla has an amphibious lifestyle,” whatever that means.) are lesser known but relevant.

Again, according to Wikizilla, King Kong’s abilities are:

  1. Immense Strength
  2. Acute Intelligence
  3. Agility
  4. Immunity to Electricity

Even if they were to be the same height, the comparison still doesn’t seem to line up in King Kong’s favor.

#3 Story

Yeah, I know that I shouldn’t be worried about story in a monster movie, but I’d like to enjoy the action without injuring myself from rolling my eyes too often.  The best way to set this up that I’ve heard came from a YouTube video.  Check it out and let me know what you think in the comments.

Leave a Reply

